How

How would you value love if you have never been heartbroken?
How would you create light if you have never lived downtrodden?

How would you treasure friendship if you have never travelled the path of loneliness?
How would you feel grateful for your food if you have never slept on an empty stomach hopeless?

How would you be thankful for each day unfurled if you have never kissed near-death pain?
How would you make time for the great if you have never paused for life’s mundane?

How would you cherish memories in old days if you have never dared to build them now?
How would you reach the zenith of success if you have never touched the pit of failure slough?

How would you learn if you have never let the strings of your imagination wander?
How, just how, would you believe in the power of dreams if you have never sailed away from the safe harbour a little bolder?

My message to you:
Deal with life as it comes-with grace and courage.
Live. Breathe. Reflect. And take chances.

Author: The Lil' Mermaid

My soul is an enthralling mystery, delicately concocted with some chaos and a little glee.

19 thoughts on “How”

    1. You’re too generous. Thank you! I browsed through some of your works. So emotive and awe-inspiring they are.

    1. True Yonason. Pleasure and pain are inseparable facets of our existence-analogy here can be drawn to the two sides of the same coin. Thank you for reading!

  1. Mrs. Phagoo,

    I hope you don’t mind that I pressed this poem to my blog “Humanity Has Hope”. I found it to be inspirational, and I wanted to share it.

    Most of the people who visit my blog are my friends and family. I’m curious to know how you found it, since I have never met you in person. You have “liked” quite a few of my articles, and I just wanted to say thank-you for enjoying them so much. Perhaps they will give you inspiration too.

    With your wisdom of the emotions, perhaps you can change the world for the better by illuminating reasons to love and why people hate. Who knows, maybe the governments in the middle east would learn from you! Keep on writing, and may you have the opportunity to change the world for the better.

    1. Hi lovely Elia, first of all, please allow me to correct you. It’s Miss Phagoo and not Mrs. Anyway, coming back to the point, it is a privilege for me if you have gauged my material deserving enough to be pressed to your blog. If this could inspire someone, I’ll think my job has been done and I’d like to thank you a million times for giving me the chance to make a positive difference in someone’s life.

      I saw some of your articles tagged in the ‘Humanity’ section of the Discover Page and found them really fascinating. This is how I got to know about your beautiful blog. As for changing the world, well I believe change starts with us, individually. If everyone does something unselfish, radical, amazing and loving, the product will be the composite change that we actually want to see in the world.

      You are a very gentle soul, Elia. Thanks again for your uplifting comments.

      1. Whoops. Sorry. Your article has been a hit on my blog. Many people from around the world have read it, so hopefully it will bring some more traffic to your blog.

        Ah… Thanks. I guess the “reader” button at the top of the page is good for something after all. I think I will use it more often. Change comes in many forms, but it tends to follow a pattern of seeing the world differently, changing habits, speaking out, taking action, etc. Right now, I’m in the taking action phase with my Refugee Fundraiser at school and another school. The world will be changed, but you and I have to see the problems with it first. I suppose this is the optimistic side of being a pessimist, if that could ever make sense…

        Thank you for the compliment. You are an amazing person too.

  2. Loved this poem. It’s great to be able to think of things in retrospect. It takes a lot of stability and strength but once a person is able to love themselves and reflect on the “NOW”, it can change their lives!

  3. So beautiful… You made me think of Heraclitus´theory of the unity of opposites. So true here … I guess we would never be able to feel certain things if not because of their opposite (feelings or ideas)…. Excellent message & nicely penned, my friend.
    Sending love & best wishes, always. ❤

Leave a Reply

