Daddy’s Little Girl

A delightful cherub, a treasured angel, a ray of sunshine
Eyes full of mischief, puckishly running around the umbrella pine
Jolly in a perfect world of magic and miracle of mine
At six, I neither care to draw the line
Nor bother to define time.


Whoop! Daddy’s little girl I am, his princess too
With excitement my feet quiver as he looks at me and shouts “You-hoo”
“Cutie pie, bring me my shoe!”
Tickled pink I become when he rubs my head with shampoo
And he brings me to the zoo
Hand in hand, to admire the kangaroo
Along with the woodland caribou
How much I love him, how much I adore him, I’m telling you
If only Daddy knew
Of my heart’s untamed hullabaloo.

Every morning I hurry to tie his half windsor knot
In seventh heaven I be for this jackpot
Smelling of aromatic Bleu de Chanel he bought
Tut-tut! Daddy wants just the teapot
Does he even long for my touch? I waver on second thought.

Sneaking into his bed with all my might
I swear I am on cloud nine in the sweetness and the moonlight
Down here, my little bud is on a high and it feels alright
In the strong arms of my white knight
But so cold he is, as usual without appetite
Shh! Cruel Momma’s in sight
Goodnight. 

For long I waited for it-a signal, a sign, an indication
It never arrived, it never will, ’cause everything is self-deception
More so, an illusion
Do I live in a fool’s paradise? I shudder in rumination
I sense fear, guilt and sin creep in with my destruction
Stiffled, smothered and suppressed, I silently witness my desires’ annihilation
As they burn till nothing but ash is left at the dawn of realization
Daddy’s little girl I shall forever remain, is my final decision.

*Image borrowed from Google

Heya beautiful bloggers!

Since you’ve enjoyed my short poem (well I guess, hopefully), I’d like to explain to you its central theme, which as you correctly identified, yaay, is the Electra Complex. Developed by Sigmund Freud, the Electra Complex is a girl’s psychosexual competition with her mother for possession of her father. In the course of her psychosexual development, it occurs in the third—phallic stage (ages 3–6)—of the five psychosexual development stages: (i) the Oral, (ii) the Anal, (iii) the Phallic, (iv) the Latent, and (v) the Genital. 

This conflict normally resolves when the child finally identifies with the same-sex parent and employs the defence mechanism of displacement to shift the object of her sexual desires from her father to men in general. It is just a game of the id, ego and superego. Though it might not fall into our pattern of political correctness, the Electra Complex is much of a realness in reality and through my poem, I have modestly tried to explore this not much talked about subject.

Wish you a good read! 

Author: The Little Mermaid

My soul is an enthralling mystery, delicately concocted with some chaos and a little glee.

21 thoughts on “Daddy’s Little Girl”

  1. I have read some books of Freud, the ones on dream psychology, Electra Complex sounds interesting, will look it up..

    It is so professional of you to study your poems so deeply and classify them in genres, i just write away, it’s hard enough giving my poems a title, i would never get to the point of writing in an era..

  2. Haha! To be honest with you Mayank, unfortunately I have never read any of Freud’s masterpiece. I’m also a greenhorn at poetry. It’s just that I write my feelings, emotions and observations through poems. That’s all.

    And you’ll surely get there you too. Keep writing. I’ll make sure to check yours out! :))

Leave a Reply

