Solitude

“There are two types of solitude-one that pulls you into darkness and another one that pushes you towards light. While the former drowns a person in the tangled inferno of harrowing isolation, bottomless depression and lugubrious despondency; the latter transforms him to a fireball of energy when he is fully connected to his own being, thereby allowing the individual to get a glimpse of quintessential empyrean.”

-The Little Mermaid, MMXVI

Author: The Little Mermaid

My soul is an enthralling mystery, delicately concocted with some chaos and a little glee.

173 thoughts on “Solitude”

  1. I think just like air and water are vitally important for our survival, the second type of solitude is equally indispensable to maintain a healthy body, a clear mind and a good balance in our chakras. People should make productive use of their loneliness.

  2. Dead-on! People who feel suffocated and desolate need the second kind of solitude to be liberated. It actually allows your mind to function at its highest potential, opening the otherwise closed doors to let the juices of creativity, introspection and peace flow in.

  3. I think the first one is forced solitude while the other one is from your own call achievable through deep meditation, yoga practices ect..

    If only people knew the secret to the second one!πŸ˜‰

  4. What can be difficult for some, I think, is knowing about – and therefore experiencing – those different kinds of solitude. I think there can be these moments of not knowing which one you may be in; at times the line between them can be very narrow. I really like this idea, and it puts it on each of us to choose.

  5. That is very well thought and written with splendid clarity! The second one is rare as much as it is essential. Our society, where solitude is regarded almost as a taboo, I feel it sometimes pulls the person from second to the first with the string of inferiority complex.

  6. Wow, speechless after reading that. :O πŸ™‚ Such a beautiful way to write about solitude especially love the way you crafted the words to make the passage sound so soothing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. According to me, it is very obvious to your consciousness to pick out which type of solitude you are experiencing, given that the first kind is demoralizing, leaving you with a dreary mood whilst the second one is uplifting, divine and blissful.

    Thanks for your input Keeferton!

  8. This is utterly true, Prateek. People are not comfortable with solitude in the hullabaloo of their daily activities. They are embarrassed to savour a cup of coffee alone in the cafetaria or to enjoy a book in a crowded place. They will check on their phones every second to persuade their feeble minds that they are not alone. I think people must relish solo time. They will end up loving their own company and eventually have more to share with others.

  9. Yes, it is true that most of the time it is distinctly clear which type of solitude that we are experiencing. There are moments though, at least from my experience, of a shifting from one to the other. Perhaps there is an interjection – physical or ethereal – that can shift the despondency of the solitary to the energetic connectedness experienced as an individual being. I am very curious about the borderlands of these transformations. But as you say, perhaps through our own decisions and practices we can be in the second one. You have given me something important to think about. Thank you!

  10. Very good post. I’d even go so far as to say that sometimes the first type of solitude can lead to the second. It is never comfortable to journey into the depths of one’s soul. But sometimes people emerge from the experience stronger, wiser, and better able to face life’s challenges.

    I think the key is to maintain some sort of lifeline to the outside world: like a caver carrying a thread that lets them find their way back. To completely isolate oneself during the uncomfortable periods of solitude is not likely to have many positive effects. But upholding some sort of healthy connection to the broader universe may help prevent us from collapsing in on ourselves.

  11. We are never alone in nature. As long as the sweet wilderness exists, there will always be comfort for every sorrow. The beauty of mountains, trees, fresh air is unparalleled.

    Thanks for your input!

  12. I agree with you, Josh. It is not healthy to destroy the bridge between our inner and outer world. In a sense, this makes us ‘human amphibians’ for we need both to survive.

    Thank you for providing such an excellent observation.

  13. All the wisdom attained by great Indian sages and Buddha attained enlightenment, moksha/nirvana in solitude when they did tapas (deep meditation). So solitude was the key to enlightenment. Beautiful post.

  14. Solitude is the perfect muse! I think both the types of solitude is imperative for a person to really grow. The placid one, for it’s healthy and the chaotic one to make us aware of the of the darkness that we may hold inside of us. To embrace it if the need be and eventually realize that it’s okay to be suffering or aching, all beautiful things emerge from something not abundantly cheery.

  15. Little Mermaid!
    I liked this name for a blog.
    But what’s your name.
    You may tell only if you feel like.
    Yes I totally agree with the two types of solitudes that you express and throw light upon.
    There is very thin line between them which divides, understanding it is a necessity, to the person who is in solitude and those who are close to him or her.
    Fantastic post.
    Fond Regards,
    Shiva

  16. I still travel, now alone, with memories of one who died as my companion. Loneliness in the world, not loneliness in my mind. I shall see if my friend and I will journey in dreams to visit a mermaid friend. πŸ˜‰

  17. There is so much media coming at me that if I don’t shore up the dam, I’ll treading water in a flood of information.
    I take a cell phone with me, but ix – nay on the aptop – lay or pI – ad – ay ( ? ).
    Gotta take a break or sink. πŸ™‚

  18. Well i meet common folks all the time so its possibble LOL. I dunno man…theres something familiar about you but i’ll take your word for it. See u around homie

  19. The word ‘artist’ is all-encompassing. An artist can be a poet, a dancer, an author, a singer, a director or a sculptor; anyone who uses his creativity, talents and imagination to produce a work of aesthetic value. Oftentimes, they take a dip into the second type of solitude to be able to create masterpieces.

    I hope I have answered your question. πŸ™‚

  20. Hey there Little Mermaid. Glad to see you on my blog, really appreciate the support. This a great post and certainly generated some great discussion. I don’t think I’d be saying anything different. Will certainly look out for you and return after I’ve completed reading the rules Lol! Best wishes. Chevvy πŸ™‚

  21. Aw thank you Stuart. Your support means a lot to me. And it is surely the mark of a talented person to recognise the flair in others. I’m honoured. See you around πŸ™‚

  22. From where you think such a wonderful quote. tell me your secret ; ) (just kidding)
    I like your post and I want to re-blogged this on my blog, If you gives me permission to do this.
    You wonderfully carved your thoughts in it.
    Thanks for sharing such a nice piece of writing with us.

  23. I am in a women’s shelter right now and I am doing much better in this solitude. I lived with my parents 7 months until last week and watched and felt myself sink lower into uncertainty and confusion. Now I am working towards bettering myself and much happier. Cutting the world off and retreating was definitely a wonderful decision. Love this post!

  24. I think we all need peace and quiet at times in our lives. That would be the second type of being alone. This is especially true when a person was raised in a quiet place. Interesting piece. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne Joshi

  25. Thank you, dear. I’m doing some self-ordered soul repair. Things are already looking better, more hopeful and possible than they ever have. I appreciate your wishes and send you the same!

  26. In a different era, William Cowper poetically wailed, “O Solitude! where are the charms / That sages have seen in thy face?” But that was in a fit of desperation arising from being marooned in an island. Those words also remain as an acknowledgement of the positive side of solitude.

  27. What do you think the prodigal son went through? He basked in solitude of course. I saw the poverty stricken guy when he sat up, took three or so steps from himself and did a dramatic volte-face to see what was left of him. “What! I did not look like this when I was with my good father”, he admitted. He had been hit by the miracle of the light, the light of the truth in Jesus. The light drew him, from the destructive darkness, to a reconciliatory trek so empyreal. This is a beautiful post. I love it!

  28. Hi Hoojewale, to be frank, I did not know who the prodigal son was until I googled it. That made for a very interesting, heuristic read.

    Thank you so much for your input. X

  29. Hoojewale, the prodigal (an adjective meaning profligate or wasteful) son likely had many “friends” until he ran out of money. It was then that he realised it was time to return to his father, who had truly loved him, and hope for forgiveness. When he was in possession of his inheritance and spending profligately, buying drinks for friends and such, I wonder how he felt. Did he feel popular and loved, or did he have times of disquiet and feelings of loneliness amidst the crowd? If someone suffers from the solitude that “pulls you into darkness,” they often hate being alone, preferring the company of even false friends. After his “reconciliatory trek,” I suspect his father’s forgiveness and joy at seeing him again presented an opportunity for him to forgive himself and enjoy the form of solitude that brings light. My question for those who talk about this biblical parable is: Are you the father, the prodigal son, or the faithful son? How does that make you feel? I think we experience each of these roles throughout our lifetimes, so it’s a fascinating parable about grace.

  30. Most unequivocally so, dear Connie Flanagan. How could a rich and influential man like this father be on a daily look out for a lost son. How could he run to his long lost swine poo smelling son and not only embrace but did the unexpected, kissed him! GRACE, and nothing but the amazing grace showered on mankind. God, truly, according to 1John 4:8, is LOVE. He is gracious in love. Amen.

  31. While generally gregarious, I value my solitude. It gives me time alone with my thoughts without someone else interjecting. I do love a good debate, but it’s important to get away from others and reflect deeply after truly listening to the various positions and viewpoints. I feel the first kind of solitude among others when deep listening and understanding are lacking. I feel the second kind of solitude when I’ve truly listened and been listened to and have the time alone to allow myself to reflect, change, and grow.

  32. No doubt both an author (paid and unpaid) and a photographer are artists. As I have defined in my above comment, I believe that a person who creates a delectable product from the three cardinal ingredients namely imagination, skill and passion is deemed fit to be called an artist. So, in my dictionary, I would invariably have a panoply of artists ranging from culinary artists, musical artists to fashion designers. πŸ™‚

  33. This is absolutely amazing!!!!!
    I love this, I believe this is true for my own life. My favorite post I have seen so far on WordPress!

    -Reupac

    reupac.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

