Competition

“The veritable competition never was, never is and never will be between you and another person. It is, au fond, all about ‘actual you’ versus ‘potential you’. Remember! In this game, you are either ahead of the curve or you are a diamond in the rough; and in both instances you do not draw to a close until victory is yours.” 

The Little Mermaid, MMXVII

Author: The Little Mermaid

My soul is an enthralling mystery, delicately concocted with some chaos and a little glee.

227 thoughts on “Competition”

  1. Nice quote. Happy New Year !
    Here is my takeout from this.
    ‘Actual you’ your authentic self and ‘potential you’ your ego (limited) self. When these two align, victory is yours !
    Dave 🙂

  2. I love how this quote assumes the best; there’s no phrase in it that implies that the golfer is just bad at the sport. Very positive and affirming, thanks for posting this!

  3. Your quote has a great depth, Little Mermaid! The more you ponder over it, the closer you to go its meaning. In this modern world of ruthless competition, everybody is on the run. in that run, one always keeps eye on others. You compete with the next fellow, leading to feelings of inadequacy, frustration, bitterness and enmity. What you really need is bringing out the best in you. for that you compete with yourself. Raise your potential, bring out the real YOU, the BEST in you! And keep on trying till the last moment!

    I liked your Quote.

  4. I agree with you Little Mermaid. The best competition is the competition with ourselves. To be the best we can be. There is no need for negative competition with anybody, but positive and healthy ones are allowed.

  5. It is the only sport where it’s just you against yourself. Yes, there are other players, but no one is trying to stop you from hitting your shot. No one is trying to block your shot, no one is trying to hit the ball back at you, or foul you while you are hitting. Nothing. In fact, there is complete silence while you hit your shot. It is just you against your own mind. There is a saying in golf. “The most important distance in any hole is the six inches between your ears. Pretty much like life itself, I reckon.

  6. In between me and my goal, of anybody is standing… it’s the “me”…
    Very well explained by your words.. hopefully readers would gain an insight so that competition doesn’t turn out to be ruthless all the time !!
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts

  7. Excellent… and I completely agree with yoou.
    Interesting that you used the dichotomy ‘actual you’ versus ‘potential you’, as it was a very important disctintion in Aristotle´s “Metaphysics” (being it related to present and future, somehow).
    I´d say then: Be (in act) the best version of your ‘potential you’! 😀
    Sending much love and hugs.

  8. Hello, dearest. You are becoming quite the sage in your young age. You and BBB are doing good work, particularly when you speak to issues of the day in ways that appeal to your culture. Well done.

    Do you remember me? My former blog was TheViewFrom5022.wordpress.com . I went by Kitsy, then. Circumstances being what they were, I had to abandon that one and start over. That blog is still online but no longer available to me.

    Let’s keep in touch

  9. If you go the extra mile you will find – it is seldom crowded… Thank you for walking that mile- and for your insight- wonderful to hear from someone who sees beyond the impossible…….

  10. Hi Dave, while I might not fully agree with you, I do appreciate your opinion. According to me, ‘Actual You’ is a person’s real self/output as at now; as you rightly said-his authentic self.

    ‘Potential You’ alludes to an individual’s future ability to better himself by capitalising on his own talents and simultaneously making maximum use of the available resources in his hands.

    One of the goals in life is to bridge the gap between ‘Actual I’ and ‘Potential I’.

    Have a fantastic day! 🙂

  11. Hi Little Mermaid, we may not use the same words, but words are only a way of explaining things.
    I do like the way you explain it though.
    Dave 🙂

  12. Bonjour

    Cette nuit je me suis reposé dans mon lit

    Aucun bruit n’est venu me déranger

    j’ai fais un rêve

    Et une personne m’a dis de venir te saluer

    Alors un énorme BONJOUR Pour la semaine

    Profite bien de celle-ci

    Passe un agréable journée

    Bisous amicaux Bernard

  13. I totally agree with you. Over the years I’ve found that competing with by past performance was more fulfilling than competing with others. I am more likely to benefit from competing with myself than with others. Great content keep it up!

  14. I thought nowadays they give trophies to all the kids, doesn’t matter if they win or lose, but a trophy for participate…. that is great.
    Are you really the one in the photo? Yo hot lady, did I just say that? …..yep

  15. Absolutely true, Harish!

    Albert Einstein once said, “Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid”. We have different strengths, talents, weaknesses and passions. It is upto us to discover our own best self.

    Have a rocking Sunday!

    Sending you much love X

  16. Hi Beparvah, ruthless competition as you mentioned is pointless; for when you compete with others, you are either over-estimating or under-estimating yourself. The former will leave you heart-broken while the latter will constrain you to throw in the towel much sooner than your ‘best self’ would.

    Thanks for the input. Much appreciated!

  17. Perfect Aquileana! Aristotle has always charmed me with his ideas-be it on politics, philosophy, poetry or history. How lovely to see that you’ve mentioned him on this post.

    I hope you are kicking-ass at life. Best wishes to you, gorgeous!

    Love and kisses X

  18. Hi there, it is in line with the concept of positive reinforcement and I’m a firm believer that this tool will encourage the desired behaviour from any individual. And yes, participation counts.

    Of course that’s me in the picture. Thank you for the compliment.

  19. Can we conclude then, that competition is a deceptive illusion, just like our reflection in the mirror? It feels tangible but it is not.

    Achievement is actuality, for a person can quantify his personal goals in agreement with his resources. Food for thought!

    Thank you very much for the input dear Elizabeth! X

  20. O.K Little Mermaid, so your going to give trophies to all the kids and that is positive you said, why is that positive? You think that prepared them for real life?
    About the picture….well you have to see mine, I’ m the Brad Pitt of Spain.
    Just sayin….

  21. I don’t mean giving a trophy to everyone. Logically, it defies the purpose of standing out and being a winner in the first place. However, a small token of participation and some words of encouragement will motivate people to do better the next time.

    You’re the Brad Pitt of Spain? Good on you, Charly! I thought you were a priest, more like Charly-The Holy Priest of Spain! Haha! 🙂

  22. Thank you for your thoughts..
    I always believed that competition is something which is good of devoid of comparison.. Competition with self is what I meant and that is not ruthless.. thank you 🙂

  23. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found anyy interesting article like yours. It’s pretty wortth enough for me. In my
    view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet would be a lot more useful
    than ever before. I always email this blog posts page to all my friends. I could not refrain from commenting.
    Exceptionally welll written! http://www.cspan.net

  24. Absolutely correct, dear aquatic Wise Lady, as you’ve always been. The aphoristic value of this post reminds me of the once upon time travail of the richest man of the east, called Job. He made all the money. But when that which he feared most happened he was left all alone to do all the fight. That was when the best and the worst sides of him came to the fore. He had the kind of reserve on the inside of him to be victorious though. Job said of his Redeemer, Jesus: “…[when] he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” I love this post ooo!

  25. Victory is eventually supplied to us by our infinite spirit source who raises the dead and operates all existence. Humanity is his ultimate critter, wired for his infinite spirit. Jesus is the first diamond out of the rough, a firstborn among many siblings. Victory is guaranteed for all of us. When we experience failure, it humbles and prepares us for the good things to come. Even righteous Job had a change of mind, in dust and ashes, after seeing the God he’d previously only heard about. So, compete with all your heart, but if your potential or actual self ever becomes inadequate, know you have an unfailing Savior who’ll be carrying you across that finish line, turning on your juice, and making you an entirely new entity, never to die again.

  26. Excellent philosophy. Worrying about “keeping up with the Jones’s” only adds stress (not quality) to one’s life. Focusing on SELF and SELF VALUE determines the ultimate quality one experiences. Great post!

  27. Hello Hoojewale, I hope you are doing well. Thank you for sharing your deeply insightful and relevant extracts from the Bible with all of us.

    I have read the story of Job, mainly the conversation which he shared with his three friends: Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite after having lost everything. It’s compelling. I feel enlightened.

    Have a peaceful day, my good friend. God bless!

  28. Not at all, been wanting to meet one! But I am not prepared! Heard a lot of tales bout mermaids in my childhood days that roused my curiosity till date!

  29. I’m not afraid! My mother used to tell me that they are beings of immense beauty. Its just that I am not ready to meet so much beauty and power!! Cause she said a mermaid can give a person anything he asked for !!!

  30. Hi- this is such a great thought, and something which I try and keep in mind at all times. I think it can be really easy to fall into the trap of starting to compare yourself with the people around you who you perceive are doing more, achieving more etc etc But that line of thinking will never take you anywhere, because there will always be someone who has more, or seems to be ‘doing better.’ I love the idea of “being the best version of yourself,” or “being the best that you can be,” and I try to challenge myself to achieve all that I know ‘best’ me could.. Thanks for putting this in such a succinct, positive manner! Thanks for sharing!

  31. Hi, Urvashi. Thanks for tinging me and saying “hi” by liking a couple of my comments elsewhere. I hope you have a great new year! I like your new photo, too!

  32. Lovely sister, you are a celestial palace, with windows open to the heavens, the little mermaid, swimming the emerald sea of infinite love, a daughter of Highest, sitting with your Father on his throne. In honor of him, I bow and kiss your holy feet. Our potential is actual and immeasurable, due to our holy Father who streams into us, flowing us into him.

  33. I’m enjoying a miniscule foretaste of what’s coming for all. You and everyone have some wonderful things to look forward to, no matter how sassy or smart-assey you may be now. 🙂

  34. But, do you seriously mean it?
    I want my blog posts to go viral, so that I can start earning money from it!
    Thanks for making me hope!

  35. Beautiful quote. It definitely helped motivate me today. Ive been thinking the same thoughts as this quote for awhile now. Im my own competition.

  36. Bonjour mon Amie du Net

    Un petit coup de pouce pour l’avenir
    Un petit mot que l’on dis régulièrement tous les jours.
    Bonjour comment vas-tu , moi ça vas , merci
    Ce sont des petits mots qui font plaisir à entendre et d’une belle sincérité
    Une grande marque de confiance
    C’est du soleil en abondance
    Si tu leur donnes un sens

    On ressent que ceux-ci viennent du cœur
    Avec un clin d’œil moi je te les adresse
    C’est la recette du bonheur accepte les moi je les prends en régal pour ce jour
    Belle journée , gros bisous plein de douceur
    Bernard

  37. On of my favorite quotes form a high school teacher was “It’s all a game. You have to figure out the rules and decide if you want to play.” That could come off as cynical, or a prophetic caution about how social systems attempt to control us. I’ll stick to being a bit rough with potential, while subverting those who think that they are at the top of their game, thus allowed to make rules for others.
    Oscar

  38. Wow I find your quote quite fascinating👌. Yet with proper checks and balances globalisation and technology can be harnessed for a better quality of life.
    Cheers

  39. Hahahaha! Thanks a lot, Mermaid!!
    Is it ok to ask what your real mermaid name is, not the one you use among humans?

  40. Wow! Thank you so much, mermaid. I feel blessed! Pleasant weekend to you too!!

  41. Thanks a lot, dear mermaid. What do I need to do in turn? I understand one has to give, when taking from a supernatural being. It applies generally, doesn’t it? I feel blessed!!
    Best of all the best weekends to you!

  42. Hey there, thank you very much for the Mystery Blogger Award. It feels just amazing to be recognized by fellow friends in the circle. I wish you a fruitful journey here. Hugs X

  43. May I simply just say what a relief to discover somebody that actually understands what
    they are talking about on the internet. You certainly realize how to bring a
    problem to light and make it important. More and more people should check this out and understand this side of your
    story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you definitely have the gift. http://bit.ly/2kgQuaK

  44. Mi sirenita, where have you been? I miss you and hope everything in your world is all right
    Hugs, Rich

  45. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care
    for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a very long
    time. Thank you and best of luck.

  46. Cool! I simply have to talk about this with my
    folks from university. They’d be curious as we’ve discussed it recently and it ended up
    that nobody’s confident about the topic. http://bit.ly/2oR8vCr

  47. Thanks for the informative input, Alex. The moment we compare ourselves with others is the very moment we belittle our real capabilities and potential.

    All the best to you, lovely woman! X

  48. Merci Bernard. Tes mots me touchent ainsi que ta présence même au bout du monde. Tu es un ami formidable. Passe un très bon week-end mon cher. Je t’embrasse fort. XO

  49. Rich!! I’m here! Things are all fine and dandy. What’s up with you? Have you grown some hair on your head while I was away? Oh, I hope not for I love your badge of distinction. I miss you too.

    Hit me back soon, mate. Sending lots of love and hugs your way. XX

  50. All the more reason for endurance in such an uncertain world and satisfactions sometimes so scarce.

Leave a Reply

